At a special event at Asia House on Wednesday 3 October, John Haynes announced the winners of the 2012 Wasafiri New Writing Prize:

David Houston for Wish You Were Here (Life Writing)

C S Mee for The Walk (Fiction)

Sally St Clair for In the Beginning and the End (Poetry)

The winning entries are published in Wasafiri 73 Spring 2013

The 2012 Shortlist:

Life Writing

Fairytales For Everyday by Jennifer Watson

Tante Djellah by Fiona O’Brien

Formidable Women by Pamela Brown-Peterside

A Tropical Breakdown by NSR Khan


Three Stories About Drowning by Krishan Coupland

The Jakey by Pat Black

Martyr’s Square by Christian Van Nieuwerburgh

The Six O’Clock Train by Caroline Kinya Mbaya


In a factory by Antoinette Fawcett

The Desperate Experiments of a Farmer in Debt by Nazneen Zafar

Pastoral (Moondragon) by Stephen Logan

Glosa by Amali Rodrigo


Susheila Nasta MBE (Chair) Editor of Wasafiri and Professor or Modern Literature at the Open University
John Haynes Poet, teacher and lecturer, winner of the Costa Prize (2006), Troubadour Poetry Prize (2007) and shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize (2010)
Maya Jaggi Award-winning cultural journalist, writer, broadcaster and judge on many high-profile literary prizes
Colin Grant Writer, playwright, historian and broadcaster, most notably on BBC Radio 4 and the World Service