The winners of the Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2011 were announced by Fiction judge Brian Chikwava at a special event at Bush House in London.


Richard Scott for Adin (Poetry)

Michael Marett-Crosby for Room 618 (Fiction)

Abeer Hoque for’ On Growing (Life Writing)

The winning entries are published in Wasafiri 69 Spring 2012



The Last Round by Carol Brick-Stock
The Killing Sea by Clare Girvan
The North Africa American Cemetry by Ali Khiari
The Teeth of Freedom by Steve Wade

Life Writing

Motherland by Geraldine Anslow
Love Letters From Transylvania by Hugh Kiernan
Lamount Hill by Amorella Lamount
Heist by Katy McAulay
List for Life by Margaret Thurgood


Hive by Polly Atkin
A Breton Girl Spinning, 1889 by Mary Whistler
Clay Lady by Margaret Wilmot


Susheila Nasta MBE (Chair) Editor of Wasafiri and Professor of Modern Literature at the Open University
Brian Chikwava Award-winning writer and recipient of the Caine Prize for African Writing in 2004
Jackie Kay Celebrated prose writer, poet and playwright, awarded an MBE for services to literature in 2006
Daljit Nagra Critically acclaimed poet, winner of the Forward Prize (2007) and the ACE Decibel award (2008)