The Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2010 Winners and Shortlist

The winners of the Wasafiri New Writing Prize were announced at a special event on October 14, at Somerset House, London. There were four winners this year:

Noel Williams for ‘The Anthropology of Loss’ (Poetry)

Barabara Jenkins for ‘It’s Cherry Pink and Apple Blossom White’ (Life Writing)

Jackie McCarrick* for ‘The Visit’ (Fiction)

Jane Ryan for ‘Minding Romiya’ (Fiction)

The winning entries can be read in Wasafiri 65 Spring 2011.

The 2010 shortlist:


‘The Taj Mahal of the North’ by Emma Sweeney

‘A Fine Line’ by Judy Walker

‘Driving’ by Patrick Mountford


‘The Translator’ by AndrĂ© Naffis Sahely

‘The Waiter’ by Ilona Lo Lacono

‘River Story’ by Maitreyabandhu

‘Leaning Some Manners’ by Nigel Smith

Life Writing

‘Tradewinds’ by Christabelle Peters

‘Fibs and Frogs’ by Nel Boswood

‘The Bad Malaria Shot’ by Renee Gioarell

’34 Pounds’ by Seif El Rashidi


Susheila Nasta (Chair) – Founding Editor of Wasafiri and Professor of Modern Literature at the Open University
Moniza Alvi – Award-winning poet and tutor at the Poetry School
Romesh Gunesekera – Internationally acclaimed writer and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature
Marina Warner – Writer, critic and Professor in the Department of Literature, Film and Theatre at the University of Essex

*Jackie McCarrick has since gone on to win the Lennon Poetry Competition and has been shortlisted for the Fish Award 2011.