The Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2009 Winners and Shortlist

The winners of Wasafiri‘s prize for new writing were announced by poet and prize judge, Mimi Khalvati, on the 31st October in front of packed audience at the Purcell Room, South Bank, London.

Ola Awonubi for ‘The Go Slow Journey’ (Fiction)

Rowyda Amin for ‘Monkey Daughter’ (Poetry)

Bart Moore-Gilbert for ‘Prologue’ (Life Writing)

The winning entries can be read in Wasafiri 61 Spring 2010

The 2009 shortlist:


‘For the Love of Mathematics’ by Kerry Barner

‘Misshapes from Cadbury’s’ by Henderson Bray

‘One Shrug in Particular’ by Ian Madden

‘What Lies Under the Guava Tree’ by Maurice O’Conner

‘Billy’ by Dawn Promislow

‘Waiting’ by Wendy Ralph

‘What Lies at the Foot of the Lighthouse’ by Neil Randall

‘Mr Chivers’ by Anne Youngson

‘Street’ by Melissa De Villiers


‘Pieces of Us’ by Sally Flint

‘The Silver Age’ by Jonathan Morley

Life Writing

‘Fast Tracks’ by Hannah Baker

‘Etiquette’ by Nel Boswood

‘Sic Transit Wagon’ by Barbara Jenkins

‘A Live Show by Sylvestra Le Touzel Teale

‘Water’ by A E Vincent


Susheila Nasta(Chair) Editor of Wasafiri and Professor of Modern Literature at the Open University
Margaret Busby Writer, editor, critic and broadcaster, former publisher and founder of Allison and Busby
Mimi Khalvati Award-winning poet, Wasafiri Board member and founder of the Poetry School
Blake Morrison Writer, poet and Professor of Creative Writing at Goldsmiths, University of London