Issue 80
Issue 79
Issue 78
Issue 77
Issue 76
Issue 75
Issue 74
Issue 73
Issue 72
Issue 71
Issue 70
Issue 69
Issue 68
Issue 67
Issue 66
Issue 65
Issue 64
issue 63
Issue 62
Issue 61
Issue 60
Issue 59
Issue 58
Issue 57
Issue 56
Issue 55
Issue 54
Issue 53
Issue 52
Issue 51
Issue 50
Issue 49
Issue 48
Issue 47
Issue 46
Issue 45
Issue 44
Issue 43
Issue 42
Issue 41
Issue 40
Issue 39
Issue 38
Issue 37
Issue 36
Issue 35
Issue 34
Issue 33
Issue 32
Issue 31
Issue 30
Issue 29
Issue 28
Issue 27
Issue 26
Issue 25
Issue 24
Issue 23
Issue 22
Issue 21
Issue 20
Issue 19
Issue 18
Issue 17
Issue 16
Issue 15
Issue 14
Issue 13
Issue 12
Issue 11
Issue 10
Issue 9
Issue 8
Issue 6 and 7
Issue 5
Issue 4
Issue 3
Issue 2
Issue 1

Wasafiri New Writing Prize

Subscribe to



The 2014 Wasafiri New Writing Prize winners announced

On 21 September, at 'Words on the Water', a literary boat trip down the Thames to mark Wasafiri's 30th birthday, writer Monique Roffey, one of this year's judges, announced the winners of the Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2014. 

There are four winners this year, two of the poems being too close to call. Our congratulations go to:

Fiction: 'The Bearer' by Simon van der Velde (UK) 

Life Writing:  'Seeing Double' by Aurvi Sharma (USA)

Poetry: 'Dot by dot of hurt' by Pnina Shinebourne (UK) and 'First Generation Immigrant Child' by Aria Aber (UK)

All four winning entries will be published in the Spring 2015 issue of Wasafiri.

Thank you to everyone who submitted entries to the prize this year, the quality of work was outstanding. The full shortlist is below:


'The Bearer' by Simon van der Velde (UK)

'Ellery Creek' by Anne Vines (Australia)

'The Kitchen Duppy' by Beth Thompson and Ovarn Brown (Jamaica)

'Greek Lessons' by Jill Germanacos (Greece)

'Infinite Landscapes' by Roisin O'Donnell (Republic of Ireland)

Life Writing

'My Father's War' by Paola Trimarco (UK)

'Letter to Virginia Woolf' by Michelle Cahill (Australia)

'Seeing Double' by Aurvi Sharma (USA)

'Walking in Lapeyrouse' by Ayanna Gillian Lloyd (Trinidad and Tobago)

'The Dreamsplitter' by Robin James Ganderton


'At the speed of light, squared' by Ann Kaiser (USA)

'How to make Pan Catalan' by Mark Fiddes (UK)

'Supply and Demand' by Glen Wilson (UK)

'Dot by dot of hurt' by Pnina Shinebourne (UK)

'First Generation Immigrant Child' by Aria Aber (UK)


Our judges this year were:

Susheila Nasta MBE (Chair) Editor of Wasafiri and Professor of Modern Literature at the Open University

Bidisha Writer and broadcaster who has published with many leading newspapers and presented on the BBC

Inua Ellams Award-winning poet, playwright and performer who has appeared both nationally and internationally

Monique Roffey Award-winning writer and memoirist, author White Woman on the Green Bicycle and Archipelago



Contact Us Guidelines VideosPrivacy Terms Accessibility
Web design London : Pedalo Ltd