Issue 87
Issue 86
Issue 85
Issue 84
Issue 83
Issue 82
Issue 81
Issue 80
Issue 79
Issue 78
Issue 77
Issue 76
Issue 75
Issue 74
Issue 73
Issue 72
Issue 71
Issue 70
Issue 69
Issue 68
Issue 67
Issue 66
Issue 65
Issue 64
issue 63
Issue 62
Issue 61
Issue 60
Issue 59
Issue 58
Issue 57
Issue 56
Issue 55
Issue 54
Issue 53
Issue 52
Issue 51
Issue 50
Issue 49
Issue 48
Issue 47
Issue 46
Issue 45
Issue 44
Issue 43
Issue 42
Issue 41
Issue 40
Issue 39
Issue 38
Issue 37
Issue 36
Issue 35
Issue 34
Issue 33
Issue 32
Issue 31
Issue 30
Issue 29
Issue 28
Issue 27
Issue 26
Issue 25
Issue 24
Issue 23
Issue 22
Issue 21
Issue 20
Issue 19
Issue 18
Issue 17
Issue 16
Issue 15
Issue 14
Issue 13
Issue 12
Issue 11
Issue 10
Issue 9
Issue 8
Issue 6 and 7
Issue 5
Issue 4
Issue 3
Issue 2
Issue 1


CFP EXTENDED DEADLINE: International Conference on Relations and Networks in Indian Ocean WritingYear 7 student, Fergal Harte, joins Wasafiri for a day in the life of magazine publishing ...The BBC is announcing the launch of Opening Lines 2015, its annual new writing series which gives emerging short story writers their radio debut. DELFINA FOUNDATION ANNOUNCE CALL FOR APPLICATIONSFrankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmed Saadawi wins 2014 International Prize for Arabic Fiction 29 April 2014
Birthday Events
Call for Submissions
New Fiction
School Projects
Wasafiri MagazineAll current news
2015 archive2014 archive2013 archive2012 archive2011 archive2010 archive2009 archiveAll current News
News info and extras: News RSS   News Rules

Subscribe to


Chike Unigwe wins the prestigious NLNG Literary Prize for On Black Sisters' Street

Posted on: Friday, November 02, 2012   News Category: 'Uncategorized'

Chika Unigwe's novel, On Black Sisters' Street, topped a shortlist of ten Nigerian and Nigerian diaspora novels to win the NLNG Literary Prize 2012.

Described as 'Africa's biggest literary prize', Unigwe wins $100,00 and joins a list of NLNG winners which includes Gabriel Okara, Ezenwa Ohaeto and  Ahmed Yerima.

Chair of judges, Professor Abiola Irele, Provost of the College of Humanities at the Kwara State University and Fellow of the Dubois Institute, Harvard University, said it took months of intensive scrutiny by the panel to produce the shortlist which was drawn from 214 entries from Nigerians at home and abroad, the largest number received since the prize was inaugurated in 2004.

The other shortlisted writers were:

Ngozi Achebe Onaedo The Blacksmith's Daughter
Ifeanyi Ajaegbo Sarah House
Jude Dibia Blackbird
Vincent Egbuson Zhero
Adaobi Tricia Nwubani I Do Not Come to You by Chance
Onuora Nzekwu Troubled Dust
Olusola Olugbesan Only a Canvas
Lola Shoneyin The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives
E E Sule Sterile Sky


Post a Comment
Your name Your email address (this will not appear on the site)
Your comments



Contact Us Guidelines VideosPrivacy Terms Accessibility
Web design London : Pedalo Ltd